Help

Sometimes we need help.

The prophet Isaiah wrote beautifully about God’s desire to help us.

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Sometimes, we have a tendency to believe the devil’s lie. Satan tries to convince us that we are all alone in this world, that our troubles are our own, and that there is no one interested in helping us. In complete contrast to that, the Bible promises that God will help us.

Of course, God isn’t some kind of magical genie. God is not there to secretly help us live a life that is filled with sin and rebellion. But no matter where we are on our journey, we can and should have confidence that God will help us.

Some people resist God’s help, saying, “I’ve just made so many mistakes that I don’t think God will help me any more.” But the promise of God still rings true, “Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you” (James 4:8).

The word help is frequently found in the book of Psalms. There are many precious promises of help that we would do well to remember.

But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: thou art my help and my deliverer; make no tarrying, O my God. Psalm 40:17

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1

Behold, God is mine helper: the Lord is with them that uphold my soul. Psalm 54:4

Over and over again, the Scriptures remind us that God is our help, that God will help us. When we pause to consider this, we understand that we are not alone.

In my experience, I have seen that no one gets through life without some bruises. In different ways and at different times, we all come to the place where we keenly sense our need for help, our need for divine assistance.

When you get to that point, please remember that God is there to help you. Lean on Him. Trust in Him. Receive His help.

by Dr. Mike Zachary

Leave a Reply

